Cold-weather food

It ain’t exactly cold today, but I decided to make this anyway.

Old Fashioned New Orleans Style Chicken Stew

1 package Zatarain’s Gumbo Mix
1 lb Boneless chicken, diced
1 1/2 cup Potatoes, diced
1 cup Carrots, sliced
1 cup Celery, diced
1 cup Onion, diced
Sauté chicken in oil until light brown. Add vegetables and sauté 2 minutes. Add Zatarain’s Gumbo Mix and 5 cups water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serves 6

I’ll probably double the batch and throw in a pound of smoked sausage. Mmm…If you bring some garlic bread, you can come join me. Or dessert.

UPDATE: This. stuff. ROCKS! Well, except for the freakin’ hour it took me to slice and dice all the ingredients. And, yes, I did add some smoked beef sausage…which brings me to a question…Isn’t smoked sausage ready to eat? Apparently, smoked sausage made from beef isn’t. I mean, jeez louise, who would have thought that you had to cook it? It’s smoked. Yeah, sure, the hunk I cut off was a bit mushy, but I thought it was just, you know, supposed to be like that. Luckily, I read the package after eating that piece and sure enough, it said “cook thoroughly”…in really small letters.

2 comments on “Cold-weather food

  1. Azalea says:

    The soup sounds great. How about writing some dog stories?? Your sweeties look like they could tell a tail or two.

  2. Maura says:

    Damn! If you didn’t live so far away, I’d be over with banana cream pie in a heartbeat! And a grande, non-fat, white chocolate mocha with whipped cream for, uh, Harold.

Comments are closed.