In Dreams

I had a dream the other night where I met the woman of my, uh, dreams.  It wasn’t one of those dreams, but it was interesting on several levels.  First, I’m pretty sure I don’t know her, but in truth, I can’t say because I don’t remember her face.  This is surprising to me because I’ll be the first to admit it…I’m shallow.  It’s usually “what does she look like” followed by “what is her personality like”.  I’m a guy…it’s how we function.  But in this case, I honestly can’t tell you what she looked like except she had blonde hair.  Not unusual for me, but I’ve not dated many blondes…truth be told I’ve not dated many women, but of those very few have been blonde. The thing I remember the most is this…she made me laugh.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know this was just a dream, but that’s the thing that I remember most.  She made me laugh.

Yes I realize that talking or writing about this is weird. It was a dream, an unconscious free for all in my brain, but it was also different.  It stood out not because of what it was, but because of what it wasn’t.  I don’t even think I’m explaining all this correctly, but you gotta believe me when I say it was different.  Maybe it was just my brain trying to get me to readjust from the “what does she look like” mentality.  Maybe it was me telling myself to lighten up.  Maybe it was God showing me who he has picked out for me.  Or maybe it was just a dream.  Whatever it was, I know one thing…I liked waking up with a smile.

Leave a Reply

